Yuuko Kanoe – My Anime Crush (30 Day Anime Challenge Day 7)

For those who were reading yesterday, it’s up to you whether you want to read the post or not since I basically went over this already. However, for those who haven’t, today I’ll be talking about Yuuko Kanoe, the female protagonist from Dusk Maiden of Amnesia. In fact, for the sake of not repeating myself, I’ll simply quote the meat and potatoes of yesterday’s post, “An Anime I Want To Watch But Haven’t Seen Yet”, that pretty much explains the background of this character.

281861

“Dusk Maiden of Amnesia is a beautiful romantic comedy for the romance and character drama that the series had. It also has one of my favourite female anime characters in it – Yuuko Kanoe, who’s for sure going to be appearing on ‘Day 7 – My Anime Crush’ :’) . She’s beautiful, kind, playful and a very (emotionally and mentally) strong and loving person. That’s right – she’s pretty much perfect haha xD.

 

For those of you who don’t already know what Dusk Maiden of Amnesia is, here’s part of a description from MAL:

Sixty years ago, a young woman was left to die in the abandoned school building behind the exclusive Seikyou Academy. No one knows why. No one knows how. But the horrifying tale and the legends of the ghostly haunting that followed live on to this day. Perhaps it’s not so surprising then, that among Seikyou’s many school clubs is one for students interested in “paranormal investigations.” What might raise more than a few hairs, however, is that the founder of the club is the ghost herself. Unable to remember how she died and trapped in the grey land between life and death, Yuuko latches onto Teiichi Niiya, a freshman who can inexplicably see her, and together they and the other unsuspecting members of the club begin to unravel the many dark mysteries that surround Seikyou.”

Now I wrote that as a spoiler-free post. So I’m gonna go into a little bit more detail as to why I like and respect her as a character and how she found her place in this post 😉 . SPOILERS.

Yuuko had been through a terrible ordeal. This much is already pretty much shown to you when the Teiichi and Yuuko find her skeleton in a secret locked room in the old building of the school. However I simply couldn’t have guessed the extent of the suffering that she went through that led to her death, and when I found out how she was betrayed by her sister and sacrificed because of the baseless superstitions of the villagers from their home town, I couldn’t help sympathising a lot with her.

On top of that, she still had the strength to finally come to terms with her memories and the negative emotions that she had pushed away and still managed to remain the cheerful and kind character that she always had been, instead of harbouring these emotions and letting them negatively affect her.

And that’s it really. I just really like her character I guess 🙂 . Anyway, I’m going to be posting a little less frequently than daily from now on just because I’ll be doing work experience this week and then I have to do all the summer assignments that school set me 😦 . It’s been fun to have the time to post this frequently but yeah real life has finally started to get in the way haha. So you can probably expect the finished avatar to be published tomorrow because I’ll be at home all day powering through it >:D . I hope you enjoy it and as always I hope you enjoyed this post 🙂 .

6 thoughts on “Yuuko Kanoe – My Anime Crush (30 Day Anime Challenge Day 7)”

    1. Haha 😉 I’m glad you’ve been keeping up. I hope you enjoy it. I got the impression from our other conversations that you were more of a shounen fan but you like romance/romantic comedy too :)?

      Like

  1. Kind of meant to do a review on this. But never got around to it. Yeah Yuuko went through a lot. And no one ever cared that she died. At least she had some fun though. Good post. Post when you can :).

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh man Rocco B 😀 that’s awesome! I gratefully accept 😉 . Like with your award post (which was very interesting by the way), it may take a while to get round to doing the award post but look forward to it nonetheless!

      Like

Leave a Reply

