New Year! New years resolution tips ;) .

I know: it’s late, again. Well, I’m sure anyone who’s followed this blog for any period of time is kinda used to this by now. Hopefully you all enjoyed the holiday celebrations, including new year, and thought up some new year’s resolutions.

Be sure to mention your resolutions in the comment sections below! I genuinely find these things really fun to talk about, so feel free to mention what goals you’ve got planned for 2016 ๐Ÿ™‚ .

I thought that this year I’d do a post on how to make new years resolutions that you’ll be able to complete and stick with, and hopefully feel good about by the end of the year as you walk out a winner.

himouto

I always sucked at thinking these things up – mainly because I forgot what they even were half way through the year or set goals which were just that little bit too impossible. But I think I’ve got it this year. The trick, I think, is actually in making the goals easy, or even making several easy goals that contribute to a bigger goal. I think what I’m trying to say, is the key is PLANNING.

k-on scared
DUN DUN DUUUUNNNN

I know, that might sound a little daunting, and as the king of procrastination (okay, I’m probably not that bad) I know how easy it is to forget to plan and to now be able to follow plans. I read in an article earlier this year that procrastination often happens because we don’t make our goals (work or whatever) easy enough. We only look at the final destination and not what we need to do to get there. It’s miles easier to see the individual, easy steps going towards the end goal than to look at the task as one solid ‘block’ – in more ways than one, because it could literally block you from reaching your goal. I guess it’s about how it seems to you when you approach it. It’s just easier to take something apart than tackle it all in one go.

Good luck ๐Ÿ˜‰ . I thought of not posting this article because it was a little late but I think it’s still useful even if you’ve thought of your goals.

My goals:
– Get the grades I need to get into the uni I want. They are pretty hard to get (for me at least). I won’t go into detailsย  because its fucking boring blogging material, but I’ve got to get good grades in this year’s exams and my retakes – of which there are many :'(. Even so, they are doable.
– Read two books every month. It’s interesting to know stuff, and I’ve started to find that it helps in all walks of life to be able to spew out stuff you learn in books and know how to say it.
– Get preparations for my trip to Japan sorted before it’s too late.

I’ll leave it there. After all, I only have so much spare time on my hands. I’m excited for this year – it’s gonna be seriously hard, but the rewards are more than worth it. Again: share your new year’s resolutions in the comment section below if you want, and ESPECIALLY any tips you have in mind :). Have a great new year everyone.Capture2

 

19 thoughts on “New Year! New years resolution tips ;) .”

  1. O.O YAY ๐Ÿ˜€
    Surpringly I had the exact same idea when coming up with my goals this year. Always try to make them easy, and do it one step at a time. When it comes to my blog I am only focusing on the months of Feb and March. I’m taking all of Jan to write up my blogs for those months so that I can have somewhat of a cushion in April and so forth. So far I’ve already written up one of my posts for March and am really excited to start my next series ๐Ÿ˜€ Hopefully I’ll be more dutiful in posting for the months to come. Good luck to ya!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I read the article for your new series -it looks really good. I never thought to do a series like that, but that’s actually a really great idea for structure and stuff. I’m looking forward to it ๐Ÿ™‚ .

      I reaaaallly need to be more dutiful in posting regularly too Dx. I don’t know why, but I’m just so bad at it. Coming up with ideas for new posts is one thing. I started a list on my phone with ideas though, so that should help. And then there’s fining the time to do it. As far as that’s concerned, I’ve started to write posts throughout the week so I don’t have to bomb it out all in one two-hour sesh.

      Good luck to you too; happy new year ;).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I have a way better way of choosing my resolutions. I don’t do it. I’m going to be the exact same failure of a human that I was last year. Or not. Idk. Let’s see how I’m feeling.
    Happy 2016, Sebbo. ^^

    Liked by 1 person

    1. “Wa-hiddly-hey now, Ruki. You’re a super star, don’t ever forget that” (or something).
      But Goddarnit Ruki, one thing I do know is that you definitely don’t fail to entertain and you don’t seem like a failure to me.
      Anyways, thanks and have a good new year as well ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Somehow when it comes to new year resolutions, my goals are getting more general instead of the specifics. Or they usually become something like ‘maintain x’, because it’s a lot easier to achieve things that way LOL.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hah yeah, I tried that a couple of times too, like this one time I chose to become a better person mentally and physically etc. but I am waaaay too disorganised to actually follow through with something like that seeing as it wasn’t really something I could assess haha.

      I’m still recovering from a sports injury atm so it doesn’t really matter right now anyway.

      I’d say I’m still trying to do these things (i.e. be more intellectual etc.) but I’m giving myself better goals which will help me achieve that.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha that is true, though usually I just assume that I achieved it through a general leap of faith -ahem-
        Oh no, I didn’t know that, how long has it been since you sustained it? ><
        Its good to be organised I think, especially when you prioritise following through your goals. It reall depends on how important following through is. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Meh, you probably did ๐Ÿ˜€ . I definitely know what you mean about being organised -one of those things you only miss if you haven’t got it haha.

          I had messed up knees because I started to grow really fast. Basically the tendond don’t keep up with the bones and so they’re liable to get damaged by overstretching. I also had malaligned keens so that didn’t help either. Losng story short, though, I strained the tendon joinging the kneecap to the shin bone (us experts call it the tibia bone). It’s been tender for about a year and a half, but I’m pretty much used to it. In fact, it gave me the opportunity to focus on stuff like starting a blog, reading more etc, so it wasn’t all that bad. First year was tough though.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Well, I don’t know much about the human anatomy but I think I got what you are saying :p But hey you’re right, perhaps you wouldn’t blog or read or watch as much anime if you didn’t, and you probably wouldn’t have met all of us xD
            Hope you get well soon, and incidentally are you planning to study or studying something medicine-related? Since you used the word ‘experts’ ๐Ÿ˜€

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Nah, I was joking around with the expert thing, didn’t want to sound pretentious :).

              I’m not studying medecine – I definitely don’t have it in me to do something so demanding and competition-based, let alone get the grades to get into a medecine school. A friend of mine is going to med school and oh-my-God does it look difficult.

              I’m going to do liberal arts (basically a bit of everything, focusing on the humanities). If I get into the one I want, I’ll be able to take a year out in Japan ๐Ÿ™‚ and learn some basic Japanese while I’m at the uni. It’s gonna be friggin awesome B( – (that’s my cool sunglasses face emoji).

              That turned into a huge rambling which I think nobody asked for haha. Have you been through the (education) system yet?

              Liked by 1 person

              1. Ooh that’s cool! Liberal arts is like the new up-and-coming employers’ favourite right? Like something that’s gonna be a lot more useful now and in future. It used to be one of my uni options but because the best unis were in the US and/or UK and my country doesn’t have it so I decided its too much of an expense. Japan’s probably gonna be an common option for exchange in most unis now so it’s a reallllll possibility ๐Ÿ˜‰
                Haha nahhh its okay I like rants and rambling and talking off-point :p That is, as long as you don’t mind all of this on your blog xD I am currently in my last year in uni haha ๐Ÿ™‚

                Liked by 1 person

                1. Nope, random conversations off the fly like this are one of the things I like the most about blogging, so it’s fine.

                  Yeah, I’m surprised you know about it. Most people have no idea what it is so I usually have to explain it which isn’t always easy considering how general it is. Luckily I’m in the UK, so it was a real possibility, but it still remains to be a course that lots of unis do in the US. In fact only a handful of them do it in the UK choosing wasn’t difficult though because only the better unis in the country do it.

                  Pity you couldn’t do it where you are :(, it looks like a pretty exciting subject. What did you end up doing in the end?

                  Liked by 1 person

                  1. I agree with you, its new and really not many unis offer it which is why its not surprising very few have heard of it. Haha, yeah! The only ones I have heard of are the US unis, and that’s where some of peers headed off to do liberal arts as well, so I have no idea which schools offer it in the UK.
                    Yeah, its really a pity >< I ended up doing law for undergrad haha. It's something I never thought of doing though xD it shows that sometimes planning ahead doesn't exactly work out sometimes haha.

                    Liked by 1 person

                    1. Wooooah, I don’t think I could ever go abroad to study haha, I’m pretty impressed that people were going there to study it.

                      Planning didn’t work out D: ? Sorry it didn’t go how you wanted. Did you not get in, or did you end up deciding not to study abroad? Still, law is pretty impressive ๐Ÿ˜ฎ – I feel like it’ll literally take you anywhere you want. I could never do that though, it’s way too taxing on my brain with all the memorisation involved (^o^)

                      Liked by 1 person

                    2. Haha well, being able to financially afford it is quite a big factor in deciding to go overseas. Although for the relatively well-off, the quality of education (and brand names) is more important to them I suppose.
                      Oh, I meant that what I initially planned didn’t quite turn out to be, but really due to more than a few reasons. Uhm, its a pretty long story which I am afraid of boring you of. xD Basically, I thought and planned going to study economics in the UK since I got into LSE and UCL (I assume you know these unis haha since you are in UK and all), but that didn’t work out partly due to me refusing to take out a student loan and the fact that law is a more professional degree. xD
                      Haha, that’s the general consensus about law. I haven’t done any memorisation at all though xD since my exams are open book, and the focus is more on the skills of application, argument and critical thinking. I understand that UK law schools may emphasise knowing the cases more and hence there’s more memorisation, though ^^

                      Liked by 1 person

                    3. Not boring at all haha. Yep, student loans suck, hence all the riots that happened when they took away grants here :p.

                      I asked a friend – they’re open book here too, but there’s still stiff to memorise outside of case studies and stuff apparently… Good luck with it :).

                      Also, sorry for dissappearing all of a sudden – I got ill and then just had no energy for blogging and stuff so I haven’t been on here :).

                      Liked by 1 person

                    4. Haha I am glad about that. Well, I feel that education should always be prioritised in terms of government fund allocation so ^^
                      Haha, of course I suppose you’ll probably do better if you memorise. I don’t because I am a little lazy. Thanks! ๐Ÿ˜€
                      Oh no problem, the same thing happened to me somewhere in December too so I understand that feeling xD Hope you are better now! ๐Ÿ™‚

                      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

