Goodness gracious! A couple of series I’ll be following this season.

The phrase “goodness gracious” can only mean one of two things. Bear in mind that these aren’t the only series that I’ll be watching this season, and I’m probably going to be giving more impressions as I go along. But I thought that these two were a good starting point because they managed to juxtapose each other so nicely in that they both made me say ‘goodness gracious’, with an entirely different meaning behind them.

The series I’ll be talking about today are both, in all fairness, shows I’m enjoying, but let me be clear when I say that there are certain standards I’m holding for one which I’m… not holding for the other. These shows are ‘Erased’, and ‘Myriad Colours Phantom World’.

EDIT: I promise I meant to finish this one before it went up. And thanks for letting me know lynlyn; I don’t know if that was intentional but still: thank youu T_T.

 

Erased

Starting off with an anime that I think everybody is talking about this season: Erased. Why not start off with the positive 🙂 ?

Erased is a mystery/drama anime following Satoru, a failed mangaka who has the mysterious ability to go back in time to stop bad things from happening. Due to a series of events, Satoru is forced to use his ability to uncover the mystery of a child abductor and murderer to… well, it’s hard to explain without spoiling stuff. Honestly, if you want to enjoy the first episode as much as I did, then please, just go and watch it.

What I love about Erased is its masterful use of characterisation and plot progression to create a rather exciting atmosphere which builds up throughout the course of each episode while giving momentum to the overall plot. Both the actions of the characters and the dialogue gives us a feel for who the person is on screen and, for the most part, presents us with a colourful cast.

ERASED SS.PNG

Speaking of dialogue (no pun intended), it flows really well, and I think this is at least partly due to the excellent voice acting used.

Are the characters wholly original? Do they follow overused tropes? Well… yeah, kind of. But the thing about tropes is that you shouldn’t use the fact that it’s a trope to judge the character themselves, seeing as it’s not a problem if they are done well. You don’t have to worry about it because they were still quirky and individual enough to feel dry. We’ll see the opposite of this in the next anime, Myriad Colours Phantom World actually…

ERASED SS2.PNG

All in all, Erased is exciting and intriguing and, as Ruki said in her first impresions post, I’m a real sucker for mystery anime. If you are too, then go watch it.

Myriad Colours Phantom World

Okay… what fuck is this?

Let me get this straight: I am enjoying this anime, but that’s not to say I think it’s good in terms of characters and story. If anything, the handling of tropes and fanservice is the entertainment factor of the show itself, as I don’t remember a time in my life when this shit ever would have turned me on as much as it would have made me laugh at what I was seeing.

Myriad SS
Are you seriously going to stand there and grope yourself with such a serious expression on yourself… I can’t see any reason why someone would need to do this to cast a spell or whatever but… I just can’t. I give up. This here is why I don’t bother holding any critical standards to the anime. I’m sure it’s doing a fine job of giving 13 year olds boners… or maybe it’s just their dicks laughing at the ridiculousness of what’s happening on-screen.

I don’t really need to say much more after what you just saw there. The anime follows some high school students in a world where a phenomenon happened which made phantoms visible to humans. The characters are tropey and, despite the main character’s efforts to avoid it, a cute girls lands on his face. I should add that I don’t think this anime takes itself seriously.

Obviously, though, I’m not watching this anime to enjoy ridiculous fanservice and dry tropes pushed in my face for half an hour every week:

Myriad SS2
It’s damn beautiful

The action scenes are animated beautifully and play out excitingly. The designs for the phantoms so far have all been creative and amusing, at some points almost reminiscent of Satoshi Kon or Studio Ghibli creations. And more than that, the soundtrack is fabulous too. I can’t help but feel like it’s a waste that such fantastic production value was put into such a poor story though, when it could have done wonders if coupled with a compelling narrative with good, interesting characters.

Should you watch it?
Allow me to reiterate that I lower my standards when I watch this anime. I find it easy to relax to, and maybe it’ll be the same for you. Luckily I clocked that said standard-lowering was required in the first few minutes when she started groping herself and what with all the characters being empty shells and what not, so I have managed to enjoy this anime. It doen’t try to be anything else which helps it tremendously.

 


 

So yeah: a mixed bag so far with series this season, but it isn’t bad by any means. If anything, I’m looking forward to it :).

See you next time!

 

 

 

I’m watching these series on Crunchyroll. If you can, support the industry by watching it there too, or any other legal streaming site. The images were screenshots from Crunchyroll too.

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Goodness gracious! A couple of series I’ll be following this season.”

  1. Cool, definitely hearing positives from Erased everywhere on the internet, so I’m going to have to put it on my to watch list (which is growing and growing without stopping T.T)

    Can’t wait to see more impressions/posts!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks 🙂
      I hope you’ll like the next one! And ya know, I can’t wait for next month because next month is MANIME CONQUEST MONTH YEEEAAAAAAAAH!!!!!!!
      Seriously though, I’m looking forward to it – marked it on the mental calendar – although I need to get to reading your latest one which looks pretty funny haha (saiyan hair is a curious case indeed!).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

